Managing roles & permissions of colleagues in HQ

Dive deeper into workspace permissions and collaborator permissions.

Workspace permissions: Owner, Admin, and Member

Every user has a role, each with its own level of permissions and access. 

Owners and admins have full access to:

  • Invite new users and manage user roles and permissions
  • Groups and members of your synced directory
  • All newsletters, editions, and templates in your organization
  • Change sender or writer permissions on a series 
  • Add and edit org style guide
  • Set default brand colors
  • Connect your organization to Microsoft Teams or Slack

Members have access to: 

  • Series that they’re specifically invited to 

With permission from an owner or admin, members have access to: 

  • Create a series
  • Invite other users to the organization
  • Access directory sync

 

Sender & Writer

Always on  |  ● Default on, but adjustable  |  Default off, but adjustable

  Sender Writer
Access and edit all editions in series
View and manage collaborators
View and mange audience
View and manage series settings  
Send any edition in series  
Grant or remove send permissions  
Toggle Edition Rundown recipients  
Adjust link access  

* One-Offs do not have Sender / Writer permissions: if a user is able to create a One-Off, they will have the ability to send a One-Off.


 

Access & Visibility

Always on  |  ● Default on, but adjustable  |  Default off, but adjustable

  Owner Admin Member
Create a series in your organization
Create an edition in a series you collaborate on
Create a personal One-Off
View all series and One-Offs within the organization  
View all editions within the organization  
Edit all series and One-Offs within the organization  
Edit all editions within the organization  

 


 

Org & User Management

Always on  |  ● Default on, but adjustable  |  Default off, but adjustable

  Owner Admin Member
Invite a user to an organization or a series
Delete a user from an organization  
Grant, remove, and adjust member permissions  
Grant or remove Admin role  
Grant or remove Owner role    

 


 

Series Settings & Audience Management

Always on  |  ● Default on, but adjustable  |  Default off, but adjustable

  Owner Admin Member (Sender) Member (Writer)
Add or remove recipients to audience via platform or CSV
Custom Domain Integration:
Set send-from address to any email with a matching domain
 
Directory Sync & CRM Sync Integration:
Access your directory via the Audience page
Directory Sync & CRM Sync Integration:
Add or remove synced recipients to audience
Access and manage integrations    
Set default brand colors    
Configure your style guides    

* Senders can adjust sender/writer permissions in the "Collaborators" tab. Admins and owners can adjust audience management and invite permissions for writers in the "Users" tab under "Settings."

When you invite a new user to your organization, you have the option to set their role and permissions. Users cannot grant new users a higher level of access than they have themselves.

Collaborator permissions: Sender and Writer

By default, collaborators are added with Sender permissions.

Senders have access to: 

  • Edit series, send tests, and ultimately send the edition to its audience. 
  • Adjust the permissions of other collaborators on the series.

Writers have access to: 

  • Edit and send test editions 
Writers do not have access to:
  • Send to the audience
  • Add or manage audience
    • Writers can access the Audience page with: "can access directory sync" turned on in the org settings
  • Add collaborators with the same Member permissions 
    • Writers can access the Collaborators page with: "can invite users to organization" turned on in the org settings
  • Adjust the permissions of other collaborators on the series
  • Edit series settings

Managing your organization 

Owners and admins can manage users through the organization’ settings. Navigate to “Settings” tab on the far left navigation bar. 



    • The “Users” tab shows you every user in your organization. Click on a user’s name to see a more detailed view of their profile. 
      • If you are an owner or admin, you will also have the option to edit the roles and permissions of other users from this page. Only owners are able to grant or revoke owner permissions to others.
    • The “Customization” tab allows you to set default series colors and add rules to your organization’s style guide.
    • The “Integrations” tab allows you to connect Axios HQ to Microsoft Teams or Slack as well as manage your integrations to restrict sharing from certain series instead of all series. 
  • One thing to note: The “Customization” and “Integrations” tabs are only visible to owners and admins. 

To view all series in your organization select “All series” in the series navigation bar. 


FAQs 

All of the collaborators on my series are writers and no one is able to send an edition. How can we change our permissions?

Reach out to an Owner or Admin to change the sender permissions on a specific series. 

I have a long list of users I want to add. Do I have to add each user manually? 

Email help@axioshq.com for assistance and we can upload a CSV of users. We will need the email, first name and last, role, and permissions. 

The option to send is grayed out. What does this mean?

You do not have sender permissions. Reach out to a collaborator that has sender permissions or an Owner/Admin. 

How can I give a Writer access to manage series audience and invite collaborators?

An Owner or Admin will need to give a writer permission to manage series audience and invite other collaborators by going to "Settings" then "Users" and turning on these permissions under "Member permissions." To allow writers to manage series audience turn on "Access to directory sync," to allow writers to manage collaborators turn on "Invite a user to the organization."  

Can I base user permissions off of an IdP group (SSO)?

Unfortunately, we do not have a way to assign roles based on your directory groups at this time. The only auto-assignment functionality available in the platform is via our Just-In-Time (JIT) Automatic Provisioning, which provides new users with default Member permissions; learn more about auto-provisioning here.

 

Have any questions or feedback? 

Feel free to reach out to your Account Manager or help@axioshq.com with any questions. You can also submit feedback directly to our Product team here